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NON-RESIDENT TUITION REDUCTION PROGRAM 

STATE AID PROGRAM FOR NURSING STUDENTS 

Conditions of Tuition Reduction 

Academic Year 2023-2024

Eligibility Requirements: 

• You must be a resident of a state other than Maryland.

• You must enroll each semester as an undergraduate degree seeking student:

• Full-time (12+ credits per semester) or part-time (6-11 credits per semester) undergraduate.

• Audited courses cannot be used to reach the minimum credit hours required for full-time or part-time status.

• You must be accepted into and remain enrolled in a nursing program leading to a degree in nursing at a Maryland

community college or four-year public institution.

As a condition of receiving Maryland State financial assistance, you pledge to remain drug free for the full term of the 

assistance.  Unlawful use of drugs and alcohol may endanger your enrollment in a Maryland college, as well as your 

Maryland financial assistance. 

NOTE:  If you fail to meet any of these eligibility requirements, your award will be canceled. 

Service Obligation: 

 If you received any tuition reduction at a community college, you must serve a two-year obligation.

 If you received any tuition reduction at a 4-year public institution, you must serve a four-year obligation.

 Service is for four years if you attended a four-year public institution or for two years if you attended a two-year

public institution, regardless of the number of years for which you received an award, or you must repay the tuition

reduction with interest.

 You are required to work as a full-time (35 hours or more per week) nurse at a Maryland hospital or related

institution after graduation.

 A related institution is defined as an organized institution, environment or home that maintains conditions or

facilities and equipment to provide domiciliary, personal or nursing care for two or more unrelated individuals who

are dependent on the administrator, operator or proprietor for nursing care or the subsistence of daily living in a

safe, sanitary and healthful environment and admits or retains the individuals for overnight care.

 You must begin employment within six months of your graduation.

 If you do not meet your service obligation, your tuition reduction must be repaid with interest.

 If you fail to remain eligible for the Non-Resident Tuition Reduction and State Aid Program for Nursing Students,

you must still fulfill the obligations of the promissory note or the assistance must be repaid with interest.

To Continue (Renew) Your Tuition Reduction: 

Your assistance will be continued or renewed for up to one (1) additional year if you are attending a Maryland community 

college, and for up to three (3) additional years if you are attending a Maryland 4-year public institution,  if you: 

 Remain enrolled in the nursing program;

 Maintain the satisfactory academic progress standards of your institution; and

 Continue to meet all other the eligibility requirements.

Payment to Your Institution:  

Once an application is approved by the Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA), their institution is notified of the 
student's eligibility.  



Under provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act, the material is available in alternate formats.  Please call (410) 767-3300, (800) 974-0203, or (800) 735-2258 (TTY /Voice). 5/2020 

The amount of assistance is the difference between the amount of tuition paid by an out-of-state student and the amount 

paid by an in-state student at the same institution in the same educational program for the identical number of credit 

hours.  The amount of assistance is known as tuition differential. It is the institution’s responsibility to make the 

adjustment in the tuition charges and to report to OSFA the amount of assistance for each student annually. 
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