Public Safety Article §3–201. PSA Police Standards and Training

- (f) (1) "Police officer" means an individual who:
- (i) is authorized to enforce the general criminal laws of the State; and
- (ii) is a member of one of the following law enforcement agencies:
- 1. the Department of State Police;
- 2. the Police Department of Baltimore City;
- 3. the police department, bureau, or force of a county;
- 4. the police department, bureau, or force of a municipal corporation;
- 5. the Maryland Transit Administration police force;
- 6. the Maryland Transportation Authority Police;
- 7. the police forces of the University System of Maryland;
- 8. the police force of Morgan State University;
- 9. the office of the sheriff of a county;
- 10. the police forces of the Department of Natural Resources;

11. the police force of the Maryland Capitol Police of the Department of General Services;

12. the police force of a State, county, or municipal corporation if the special police officers are appointed under Subtitle 3 of this title;

13. the Housing Authority of Baltimore City Police Force;

- 14. the Baltimore City School Police Force;
- 15. the Crofton Police Department;
- 16. the Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission Police Force;

17. the Ocean Pines Police Department;

18. the police force of the Baltimore City Community College;

19. the police force of the Hagerstown Community College;

20. the Warrant Apprehension Unit of the Intelligence and Investigative Division in the Department;

21. the police force of the Anne Arundel Community College; or

22. the police department of the Johns Hopkins University established in accordance with Title 24, Subtitle 12 of the Education Article.

(2) "Police officer" includes:

(i) a member of the Field Enforcement Bureau of the Comptroller's Office;

(ii) a member of the Field Enforcement Division of the Alcohol, Tobacco, and Cannabis Commission;

(iii) the State Fire Marshal or a deputy State fire marshal;

(iv) an investigator of the Intelligence and Investigative Division of the
Department;

(v) a Montgomery County fire and explosive investigator as defined in § 2–208.1 of the Criminal Procedure Article;

(vi) an Anne Arundel County or City of Annapolis fire and explosive investigator as defined in § 2–208.2 of the Criminal Procedure Article;

(vii) a Prince George's County fire and explosive investigator as defined in § 2–208.3 of the Criminal Procedure Article;

(viii) a Worcester County fire and explosive investigator as defined in § 2–208.4 of the Criminal Procedure Article;

(ix) a City of Hagerstown fire and explosive investigator as defined in § 2–208.5 of the Criminal Procedure Article; and

(x) a Howard County fire and explosive investigator as defined in § 2–208.6 of the Criminal Procedure Article.

(3) "Police officer" does not include:

(i) an individual who serves as a police officer only because the individual occupies another office or position;

(ii) a sheriff, the Secretary of State Police, a commissioner of police, a deputy or assistant commissioner of police, a chief of police, a deputy or assistant chief of police, or another individual with an equivalent title who is appointed or employed by a government to exercise equivalent supervisory authority; or

(iii) a member of the Maryland National Guard who:

1. is under the control and jurisdiction of the Military Department;

2. is assigned to the military property designated as the Martin State Airport; and

3. is charged with exercising police powers in and for the Martin State Airport.

(g) "SWAT team" means an agency-designated unit of law enforcement officers who are selected, trained, and equipped to work as a coordinated team to resolve critical incidents that are so hazardous, complex, or unusual that they may exceed the capabilities of first responders or investigative units.