Office of Student Financial Assistance

Annual Report

on the

William Donald Schaefer Scholarship Program

2005

December 2005

Advisory Council William Donald Schaefer Scholarship

Members Academic Year 05-06

Dr. May Chen Community Colleges of Baltimore County

Councilman Christopher Merdon Howard County Council

Fred Puddester Public Member

Dr. Susan Schwab University System of Maryland

Mara Winters Maryland Association of Non-Profit Associations Dr. Ellen Frishberg The Johns Hopkins University

Marion Pines Public Member

Luther Starnes Public Member

Dr. Maurice C. Taylor Morgan State University

Tim Wolfe St. Mary's College of Maryland

Maryland Higher Education Commission staff Andrea Mansfield Linda Asplin

William Donald Schaefer Scholarship Program 2005 Annual Report

The William Donald Schaefer Scholarship Advisory Council and Program was created by HB 1307 (Chapter 413, Acts of 2004) to provide financial assistance to Maryland residents attending a Maryland higher education institution to prepare for and pursue careers in public service. By December 1 of each year, the Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) is to provide a report to the Governor and General Assembly on the administration of this program. This report is in response to this request.

The legislation took effect October 1, 2004, however, funds were not provided in the fiscal year 2005 budget to make awards during the 2004-2005 academic year. MHEC's Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA) worked during 2004 and 2005 to develop an appropriate structure to begin making awards in fiscal year 2006.

The Advisory Council was appointed in October 2004 and is comprised of 10 members, each serving two-year terms, representing the segments of higher education in Maryland and organizations that may employ individuals receiving the scholarship. The Advisory Council had its first meeting in November 2004, to discuss program guidelines, recipient selection criteria, and the possibility of raising funds for the program. OSFA finalized draft guidelines based on discussions that took place at the November meeting. Guidelines went to the Advisory Council for final review and then to the Commission for approval in March, 2005. Funds were approved in the fiscal year 2006 budget for the program and awards were made for the 2005-2006 academic year.

The evaluation criteria used by the Advisory Council to select award recipients was (in order of importance): financial need; volunteer/public service experience; a 1000 word essay regarding career goals and interest in public service; grade point average; three letters of reference; and a resume. Additionally, the Council considered demographic information to ensure equal access for all eligible applicants.

William Donald Schaefer (WDS) Scholarship applications were made available in April 2005, and were accepted until July 1, 2005. The Office of Student Financial Assistance received 157 applications. Of the 157 applications received, 39 were incomplete. To further narrow the number of applicants to be reviewed, students were ranked by financial need as determined by the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and by Grade Point Average. Since students must demonstrate a definite financial need, all students with Estimated Family Contributions (EFC) of over \$10,000 as provided on the FAFSA were considered ineligible for assistance. Applicants with GPAs under a 3.0 were also considered ineligible. This narrowed the pool to 87 eligible applicants. It was decided that the first 40 applicants with the lowest EFC's (\$0 to \$1,880) would be sent to the WDS Advisory Council for consideration. Council members ranked each of the 40 applicants according to the evaluation criteria on a standard form. A meeting was held where each Council member's top applicants were discussed in detail. Ten applicants were selected to receive an award, and four applicants were chosen as alternates should

one of the ten decide not to accept the award. The average award for the ten recipients is \$8,010 for academic year 05-06.

Listed below are the higher education institution each of the ten recipients will be attending, their respective institutions, majors and degrees sought:

University of Maryland, Baltimore County – Health Administration and Policy – B.S. Hagerstown Business College – Criminal Justice – A.A. University of Maryland, Baltimore – Law – J.D. Frostburg State University – English – B.A. University of Maryland, Baltimore – Law – J.D. University of Maryland, Baltimore – Law – J.D. University of Maryland Baltimore County – Political Science – B.S. University of Maryland, Baltimore – Law – J.D. Hood College – Social Work – B.S.W. Morgan State University – Social Work – LCSW-C

All students accepted the WDS Scholarship award and signed a promissory note agreeing to work in public service in the State of Maryland for each year they receive the award.

The four alternate recipients will be attending the following higher education institutions and will be seeking the following majors and degrees:

Hood College – Social Work – B.S.W. Mount St. Mary's College – Elementary Education – B.A. University of Maryland, Baltimore – Pharmacy – PharmD St. Mary's College of Maryland – Political Science – B.S.

All alternates were highly encouraged to reapply for academic year 06-07 awards. A recognition ceremony was held for the ten recipients and their families.