



Boyd K. Rutherford Lt. Governor

Andrew R. Smarick

James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph. D. Secretary

Maryland Higher Education Commission

Education Policy Committee Meeting Agenda Monday, February 1, 2021, 3:00-5:00pm

Virtual Meeting Information: meet.google.com/ten-ijpm-zma
You can also dial in using your phone: 339-545-4107; PIN: 653 479 600#

Call to order, welcome, and introductions 5 mins 1. Review and discussion of the responsibility of the 15 mins **Education Policy Committee (EPC)** see Commission bylaws: https://mhec.maryland.gov/About/Pages/bylaws.aspx Previous Program Review Committee Goals and Discussions 30 mins Faculty Waiver Request for Out-of-State Institutions: COMAR 13B.02.01.16.E Academic Program Review Updates and Discussion: 30 mins -- Recent Objections --Substantial Modification Workgroup --Defining "undergraduate core programs consisting of basic liberal arts and sciences disciplines" for the purposes of program duplication 5. Research Updates and Discussion 10 mins 6. **Future Meeting Dates** 5 mins 7. Other Business 8. Adjournment

Commissioner Members

Senchal Dashiell Barrolle, Esq. Vivian S. Boyd, Ph.D. Sydney Miller, Student Commissioner Mary Pat Seurkamp, Ph.D. Andrew R. Smarick John W. Yaeger, Ed.D.

Staff Members

Emily A. A. Dow, Ph.D., Assistant Secretary for Academic Affairs Trish Gordon McCown, Director, Academic Affairs Barbara Schmertz, Ph.D., Director, Research and Policy Analysis