Contact Us

Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street
Baltimore, MD  21201

Hours of Operation: Monday​ through Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA)


 
Phone Number: (410) 767-3300
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0250

For questions about your financial aid application or award, please log into MDCAPS at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us and send us an email through your secure account.

For problems logging into your MD CAPS account, first read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document located on the MDCAPS homepage at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us.  If you still cannot log in to your account, please email OSFA at osfamail.mhec@maryland.gov

Department of Academic Affairs, Research & Policy Analysis, Private Career Schools, Department of Finance and Administration


 
Phone Number: (410) 767-3300
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0270

Visitors who are hard of hearing, deaf or speech-disabled and who use a TTY or text telephone can contact MHEC via Maryland Relay (Dial 7-1-1 or 800-735-2258)

Please direct all questions or comments about our web site to: webmgr.mhec@maryland.gov.  We welcome email correspondence from anyone, but we do not accept attachments.​​​​​

Staff Contact Information

Office of the Secretary

 
Name Position Title Email
James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D. Secretary of Higher Education james.fielder@maryland.gov
Priscilla Moore Special Assistant to the Secretary priscilla.moore@maryland.gov​

Office of the Attorne​y General

 
Name Position Title Email
Mark Blom Assistant Attorney General - Principal Counsel mark.blom@maryland.gov
Christine Wellons Assistant Attorney General christine.wellons@maryland.gov


Department of Academic Affairs

 
Name Position Title Email
Emily Dow Assistant Secretary for Academic Affairs emily.dow@maryland.gov
Michael Kiphart Director of Academic Affairs michael.kiphart@maryland.gov

Collegiate Unit

Name Position Title Email
Monica Wheatley Associate Director of Collegiate Affairs monica.wheatley@maryland.gov
Vanessa Bennett Education Policy Analyst                       vanessa.bennett@maryland.gov
Jackie Cade Education Policy Analyst jacqueline.cade@maryland.gov
Glenda Abney Education Policy Analyst glenda.abney@maryland.gov
Koliwe Moyo Online Education Analyst koliwe.moyo@maryland.gov
Elaine Shaw-Taylor Administrative Specialist elaine.taylor@maryland.gov
​Sheila Coleman ​Online Education Support Specialist sheila.coleman@maryland.gov

Private Career Schools

Name Position Title Email
Alan Gallegos Associate Director of Career and Workforce Education alan.gallegos@maryland.gov
Ashley Wallace Senior Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education ashley.wallace@maryland.gov
Angela Carroll Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education angela.carroll@maryland.gov
Vacant Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education
Ronda Brown Administrative Aide -Career/Workforce Education ronda.brown@maryland.gov

Veterans Affairs

Name Position Title Email
Trish Gordon-McCown Associate Director of Veterans Affairs trish.mccown@maryland.gov
Olayta Rigsby Veterans Affairs Analyst olayta.rigsby@maryland.gov
Everette Jackson, Jr. Veterans Affairs Analyst everette.jackson@maryland.gov

Department of Finance and Administration

 
Name Position Title Email
Geoffrey Newman Assistant Secretary of Higher Education geoff.newman@maryland.gov

Office of Budget and Finance

Name Position Title Email
Jeffrey Cann Director jeff.cann@maryland.gov
Sandy Carrera Administrative Officer sandra.carrera@maryland.gov
La Juan Lee Procurement Officer lajuan.lee@maryland.gov
Les Hodgson Staff Accountant les.hodgson@maryland.gov

Office of Facilities/Capital Budget Oversight

Name Position Title Email
Vacant Finance Policy Analyst
Anthony Reiner Finance and Facilities anthony.reiner@maryland.gov

Office of Information Technology

Name Position Title Email
Parris Jackson Director parris.jackson@maryland.gov
Alexander Robertson Systems Specialist alex.robertson@maryland.gov
Lisa Stollof Database Specialist lisa.stollof@maryland.gov
Vacant Systems Specialist
Vacant Systems Specialist

Department of Outreach for Public, Student, Legislative, and Corporate Relations

 
Name Position Title Email
Lee Towers Executive Director lee.towers@maryland.gov

Office of Communications

Name Position Title Email
Maria C. Torres, Ph.D. Director​ of Communications  mariac.torres@maryland.gov​

Office of Outreach and Grants Management (OGM)

Name Position Title Email
Benee' Edwards Grants Management Manager benee.edwards@maryland.gov
Peggy Daw Nurse Support Program II Grant Manager peggy.daw@maryland.gov
Vacant Nurse Support Program II Grant Specialist
Kimberly Ford Grant Support Specialist kimberly.ford@maryland.gov
Isaiah Ellis Outreach Specialist isaiah.ellis@maryland.gov
Cynthia Tims GEAR UP/CPIP Grant Coordinator cynthia.tims@maryland.gov
Tyra Wilson GEAR UP Grant Support Specialist tyrar.wilson@maryland.gov

Office of Legislative Affairs

Name Position Title Email
Lee Towers Director lee.towers@maryland.gov

Office of Research and Policy ​Analysis (RPA)

 
Name Position Title Email
Jon Enriquez Director - RPA jon.enriquez1@maryland.gov
Barbara Schmertz Associate Director barbara.schmertz@maryland.gov
Ann Kellogg MLDSC Director of Reporting Services ann.kellogg@maryland.gov
Alexia Van Orden Research Analyst alexia.vanorden@maryland.gov
Vacant Research Analyst
​​​​​​​​