Contact Us

​​​​ ​
​​ ​

​Maryland Higher Educati​on Commission​


6 North Liberty Street
Ba​ltimore, MD 21201

Effective May 13, 2024, The Maryland Higher Education Commission NEW Hours of Operation are:

Monday through Friday, 8:30 am - 4:00 pm​

​​​

​Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA)


Phone Number:
(410) 767-3300
Toll Free Phone:
(800) 974-0203
​​Fax:(410) 332-0250​
IMPORTANT:

Create your MDCAP​S account to access the MHEC One-App, where you can apply for all of MHEC'S scholarships and grants in one convenient location!
  
Review all of the scholarships and grants available​ ​to help you​ achieve your higher education goals!        

Meet with OSFA Staff:  Go to  https://mhec.maryland.gov/preparing/Pages/virtualmeeting-OSFA.aspx  to make an appointment.                    

​​​

Department of Academic Affairs,

Research & Policy Analysis,

Private Career Schools,

Department of Finance and ​Administration


Phone Number:                                                                
(410) 767-3300  follow the prompt to each unit
Toll Free Phone:(800) 974-0203
Fax:(410) 332-0270

Visitors who are hard of hearing, ​deaf or speech-disabled and who use a TTY or text telephone can contact MHEC via Maryland Relay (Dial 7-1-1 or 800-735-2258)

We welcome email correspondence from anyone, however we do not accept attachments. ​​


Staff Contact Information


OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

​Sanjay Rai, Ph.D.​
​​Secretary of Higher Education ​sanjay.rai@maryland.gov​
Deborah IngExecutive Assistant to the Secretary
deborah.ing@maryland.gov

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL


Kimberly WardAssistant Attorney General - Principal Counsel ​kimberly.ward1@maryland.gov​
​Soma Kedia
Assistant Attorney General
soma.kedia@maryland.gov
​​​

DEPARTMENT OF ACADEMIC AFFAIRS


Emily A.A. Dow, Ph.D. Assistant Secretary for Academic Affairs
emily.dow@maryland.gov

Office of Academic Affairs

Trish Gordon-McCownDirector of Academic Affairs trish.mccown@maryland.gov
VacantAdministrative Specialist ​​

Collegiate Affairs - Institution Review 

​​Alexandra​ ​ChaillouAssociate Director of Institution Review alexandra.chaillou@maryland.gov
Melissa LeuschelEducation Policy Analyst melissa.leuschel@maryland.gov
VacantEducation Policy Analyst
​​
Ebony WaltersEducation Policy Analyst​
ebony.walters​@maryland.gov
Vacant
Online Education Analyst

​Cara MartinezAdministrative Officer
cara.martinez@maryland.gov
VacantAdministrative Specialist


Collegiate Affairs - Program Review 

Lyndsay Silva
Associate Director of Program Review
lyndsay.silva​@maryland.gov
Glenda AbneySenior Education Policy Analyst glenda.abney@maryland.gov
Bryson BarksdaleSenior Education Policy Analyst
bryson.barksdale@maryland.gov
Shayla HunterEducation Policy Analyst shayla.hunter@maryland.gov
​​​​Allie EdelsteinEducation Policy Analyst/ ​ACM Coordinator
allie.edelstein@​maryland.gov
Brittany​ MartinEducation Policy Analyst brittany.martin1@maryland.gov
​​Rose RobinsonEducation Policy Analyst​
rose.robinson1@maryland.gov
​Alexis M​errimanEducation Policy Analyst ​alexis.merriman@maryland.gov
VacantEducation Policy Analyst
​​Victoria JohnsonAdministrative Officer
victoria.johnson3@maryland.gov
​​​

Private Career Schools/Career and Workforce Education 

Eric Jackson
​Associate Director of Career and Workforce Education​​eric.jackson1@maryland.gov
Donita Moore
Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education
donita.moore@maryland.gov
Desiree Rodri​​guez
Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education desiree.rodriguez1@maryland.gov
Briana Hines
Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education
briana.hines@maryland.gov
Jodie Fair​
Administrative Officer
jodie.fair@maryland.gov​​

Veterans Affairs

Everette Jackson, Jr.Associate Director of Veterans Affairs everetted.jackson@maryland.gov
Olayta RigsbyVeterans Affairs Analyst olayta.rigsby@maryland.gov
​Wayne HolmesVeterans Affairs Analyst wayne.holmes@maryland.gov
Vacant
Administrative Officer

Office of Research and Policy Analysis

Barbara Schm​ertz,​Ph.D.​​
Director
barbara.schmertz@maryland.gov
Yuxin Lin, Ph.D.
Associate Director yuxin.lin@maryland.gov
Ann Kellogg, Ph.D.Director of Reporting Services ann.kellogg@maryland.gov
Frances Turner
Research and Policy Analyst
​frances.turner@maryland.gov
​Eliza Kritz
Research and Policy Analyst eliza.kritz@maryland.gov​
​​

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION


Geoffrey NewmanAssistant Secretary for Finance and Administration
geoff.newman@maryland.gov

Office of Budget and Finance

Samuel Durai Pandian
Director ​samueldurai.pandian1@maryland.gov​​​
Rona Clegg-SparrowAssociate Director rona.clegg-sparrow1@maryland.gov
Sisay Takele​​​
Accountant Lead​​
​​​sisay.takele@maryland.gov
Shirlita Lee​
Procurement Officer shirlita.lee1@maryland.gov
Quincy Song
Staff Accountant ​​quincy.song1@maryland.gov
Qing Dong​​
Administrative Specialist​​
​qing.dong@maryland.gov​


Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA)


​​Jacqueline Colkley​
​​Operations Associate Director
​jacqueline.colkley@maryland.gov
Catherine Litten​
​​Need-Based Program Manager
catherine.litten@maryland.gov
Carl Brooks
​​Decentralized Program Manager
carl.brooks@maryland.gov
Donna Cureton
Service Obligation Program Manager
donna.cureton@maryland.gov
Glendetta Matthews
Career-Based Program Manager
glendetta.matthews1@maryland.gov
Latasha Williams
Loan Assistance Repayment Program Manager (LARP)
latasha.williams@maryland.gov
Shawnice King
Unique and Special Populations Program Manager​
Shawnice.king@maryland.gov
​​​​
Create your MDCAPS account to access the MHEC One-App, where you can apply for all of MHEC'S scholarships and grants in one convenient location!
  
Review all of the scholarships and grants availabe through MHEC to help you​ achieve your higher education goals!       
 

For questions about your financial aid application or aw​ard,  please email OSFA at ​osfamail.mhec@maryland.gov.



Office of Facilities/Capital Budget Oversight

Daniel SchusterFinance Policy Analyst daniel.schuster1@maryland.gov
Anthony ReinerFinance and Facilities anthony.reiner@maryland.gov

Student Loan Debt Relief Tax Credit

Mary LoganManager mary.logan1@maryland.gov
Jennifer FischettiAdministrator jennifer.fischetti@maryland.gov

Office of Information Technology

Parris JacksonDirector parris.jackson@maryland.gov
Alexander RobertsonSystems Specialist alex.robertson@maryland.gov
Lisa StollofDatabase Specialist lisa.stollof@maryland.gov
Swagata PramanikSystems Specialist swagata.pramanik2@maryland.gov
Riya RahmanSystems Specialist riya.rahman1@maryland.gov
​Office of ​Grants Management​
VacantGrants Management Manager

Laura SchenkNSP II Grant Administrator​
laura.schenk1​​​@maryland.gov​
Kimberly FordNSP II Assistant Grant Administrator​
kimberly.ford@maryland.gov
​​​Vacant
GEAR UP Scholarship Administrator​               
Questions gearup.mhec@maryland.gov​
​​

​​For information on Nurse Support Program II (NSP II) visit: www.nursesupport.org.

For student inquiries regarding Graduate Nurse Faculty (GNF) Scholarships or the Cohen Scholars Program, contact NSP II staff at nsp2.mhec@maryland.gov


​​
​​​​

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL RELATIONS


Derrick ColeyExecutive Director ​derrick.coley@maryland.gov

Office of Communications

VacantDirector

Office of Outreach​

​Alexia SimmonsOutre​ach Specialist​​​
​​alexia.simmons1@maryland.gov​​​​

For information on Financial Aid Outreac​h Events or Publications, please ​email at​: outreach.mhec@maryland.gov

​​​

Office of Legislative Affairs

Derrick C​oley
Director derrick.coley@maryland.gov​


Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information