The Maryland Higher Education Commission Awards Maryland Nurse Faculty for Outstanding Service

Baltimore, Maryland – (02-15-22​) – The Maryland Higher Education Commission (MHEC) Secretary, Dr. James D. Fielder, announced that members of Maryland’s nurse faculty were recently recognized for their contributions in nursing education and their service to Maryland nursing students.

The Nurse Support Program II (NSP II), which is administered by the Maryland Higher Education Commission and funded through the Health Services Cost Review Commission, recently announced the FY 2022 Nurse Faculty Annual Recognition Awards (NFAR), showcasing 23 of Maryland’s finest nurse faculty. Each of the award recipients were nominated by their Dean or Director of Nursing as full-time nurse faculty and will receive $10,000.

"The ongoing efforts of these outstanding individuals deserve to be applauded and recognized for their commitment to all Marylanders, as they not only provide cutting-edge training for the current nurse faculty, but are creating new and innovative ways of educating the next generation of nurses in Maryland," Secretary Fielder said.

The award recipients were chosen from selected areas of excellence demonstrated by the faculty member in the following categories: A. Excellence in Teaching, B. Impact on Students, C. Engagement in the Nursing Program and Employment Institution, D. Innovation in Education and Technology and E. Contributions to Nursing Education.

​Mr. Rick Cooper Allegany College of Maryland
Ms. Denise Lyons Anne Arundel Community College
Dr. Birthale Archie Bowie State University
Ms. Jo Lynn Minnema Carroll Community College
Dr. Rhonda Rash Cecil College
Dr. Heather Westerfield Chesapeake College
Dr. Sara Cano College of Southern Maryland
Dr. Stephanie Kratzen Community College of Baltimore County
Dr. Danita Tolson Coppin State University
Dr. Andrea Hagen Frederick Community College
Lori Manilla Hagerstown Community College
Mary Beverly Gallagher Harford Community College
Colleen Young Howard Community College
Dr. Laura Lucas Johns Hopkins University
Brenda Knopp Montgomery College
Dr. Mary O’Connor Notre Dame of Maryland University
Barbara Engh Prince George’s Community College
Dr. Mary DiBartolo Salisbury University
Dr. Nancy Hannafin Towson University
Dr. Joan Davenport University of Maryland
Dr. Mary Schroeder University of Maryland Global Campus
Dr. Nellie McKenzie Washington Adventist University
Andrea Stern Wor-Wic Community College

"The average teaching experience of the award recipients was 20 years and included fourteen nominees with doctoral degrees and nine nominees with master's level preparation," said NSP II Director Dr. Peggy Daw.

For more information on the awards, go to

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information