Maryland Nurse Faculty Recognized for Outstanding Service

Having trouble viewing this email? View it as a Web page.

MHEC - Engage, Inform, Support

Maryland Higher Education Commission for Immediate Release

MHEC Media Release

The Dr. Peg E. Daw Nurse Faculty Annual Award Recognizes 35 Maryland Nurse Faculty for Their Outstanding Service

Baltimore, MD – (March 13, 2024) – The Maryland Higher Education Commission today announced $350,000 in grants to 35 full-time Maryland nurse faculty members for their outstanding contributions to nursing education. As a recipient of the Dr. Peg E. Daw Nurse Faculty Annual Recognition Award, each received $10,000. 

“This recognition emphasizes the commitment of our nurse faculty who provide state-of-the-art training for our current nursing students across the state, while remaining dedicated to finding new and innovative ways of educating the next generation of nurses in Maryland,” said Maryland Higher Education Acting Secretary Sanjay Rai.

Award recipients were chosen for demonstrating excellence in their role as a nurse faculty member in one of five categories, including excellence in teaching, impact on students, engagement, innovation in education and technology, and contributions to nursing education.

The 35 award recipients were nominated by their dean or director of nursing at 16 Maryland Schools of Nursing:

●       Melinda Romesberg, Allegany College of Maryland

●       Becky Boucaud, Baltimore City Community College

●       Cordelia Obizoba, Bowie State University

●       Rebecca Barker, Carroll Community College

●       Jennifer Fritzges, Carroll Community College

●       Tammy Schwaab, Carroll Community College

●       Shirley Gharbin, Cecil College

●       Cynthia Horton, Cecil College

●       Melanie Daniels, Chesapeake College

●       Jodi Stein, Chesapeake College

●       Linda Goodman, College of Southern Maryland

●       Ihuoma Ezebuihe, Coppin State University

●       Lori Harvin, Coppin State University

●       Miriam Washington, Coppin State University

●       Charlotte Wood, Coppin State University

●       Rita D’Aoust, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

●       Krysia Hudson, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

●       Lorraine Green, Montgomery College

●       Jennifer Knowlton, Montgomery College

●       Girijadevi Mohankumar, Montgomery College

●       Elisa Salas, Montgomery College

●       Kathryn Handy, Notre Dame of Maryland University

●       Pamela Marcus, Prince George’s Community College

●       Kimberly Allen, Salisbury University

●       Annette Barnes, Salisbury University

●       Debra Webster, Salisbury University

●       Tammy Bowers, Towson University

●       Sarah Caro, Towson University

●       Mary Curran, Towson University

●       Mary Lashley, Towson University

●       Hyun Jeong Park, Towson University

●       Teresa Gaston, University of Maryland Global Campus

●       Bridgitte Gourley, University of Maryland School of Nursing

●       Jercilla Murmu, Washington Adventist University

●       Oluwakemi Opanubi, Washington Adventist University

“This year’s recipients of the Dr. Peg E. Daw award exemplifies excellence in nursing education with an average 15 years of teaching experience, and over 70% have a doctoral degree.” said Nurse Support Program II Grant Administrator Dr. Laura Schenk.  

The awards are administered by the Nurse Support Program II, a unit of the Maryland Higher Education Commission and are funded through the Health Services Cost Review Commission.

Go to the Nurse Support Program II webpage for more information on the awards.


6 North Liberty Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: (410) 767-3301
Toll Free: (800) 974-0203

Bookmark and Share 


Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information